Where were you on 9/11? What do you remember?

Someone posed this question to me. My reply follows. Along with my question to you: Where were you on 9/11 and what do you remember?

It was a Tuesday. We were at home, just into our 2nd week of school. (Only schooling 2 grades at that time, with 2 toddlers and a baby.) My husband called from the office and told me turn on the TV – (I suppose now he’d tell me to check the internet.) We tuned in and saw the 2nd one get hit.

I thought for sure the world was ending. And all I could think about was we were nearly out of disposable diapers and better get some right away.

We watched the replay and the news coverage for the better part of the day. Mind numbing tragedy. We prayed. Again.

In the foggy realization of what was happening, we tried to get back to schoolwork. I opened a folder to do our Bible Lesson. Inside was the drawing done the day before while we were reading in Exodus. (I used to just draw while we read to illustrate the scripture passage.)

It was simply a drawing of flames with the words “I Am Who Am” — but oddly, I had written on it “9/11”.

Seriously, even though it had been done the day before, I had written on the paper: 9/11.

Accidental? Probably. But it was a real jaw-dropper to see that drawing after watching the news and seeing what had just happened.

Fast forward to several weeks ago.

Interestingly, I recently met someone who actually worked in the World Trade Center.

Although he didn’t go to work that day himself, he has some gripping stories to tell.

He’d be willing to give a talk and answer questions for local homeschoolers.

So, where were you on 9/11? What do you remember?…

Leave a Reply

