Hopes and Goals – Bringing it out into the Light of 2014

Standing at the doorway, the light of a new year is shining.

hot2014Did you “unplug” from technology for a few days? I did and found that the world didn’t come to an end. I need to do more of that. You, too? Try it. I dare you.

Then I noticed my inbox:

What 2013 taught me.
Will 2014 be better than 2013?
20 Lessons I Learned in 2013.
How can I improve in 2014?

The end of a year brings different thoughts to different people.

It’s a new year…
…a fresh start.

A symbolic new beginning, to celebrate.  But it is only another moment in time.

“New Year’s Eve is like every other night; there is no pause in the march of the universe, no breathless moment of silence among created things that the passage of another twelve months may be noted; and yet no man has quite the same thoughts this evening that come with the coming of darkness on other nights.”
(
Hamilton Wright Mabie)

Just another day.
To make resolutions…

Many set resolutions only to be disappointed by not achieving them. (Duh.) I’m not a big fan of New Year’s resolutions – and if they haven’t worked for you in the past, they’re not going to work this year either.

Do you set New Year’s Resolutions that don’t happen?

Resolutions tend to be more like unrealistic wishes that won’t come true.

2010: I will get my weight down below 160 pounds.
2011: I will follow my new diet religiously until I get below 180 pounds.
2012: I will develop a realistic attitude about my weight.
2013: I will work out every day.
2014: I will try to drive past a gym at least once a week
and eat fewer cookies. (Source)

“How about instead of resolutions we simply acknowledged what we struggle with. Pull it out into the light and say, This is hard for me. I’m working on it.”  (A brand new year  Rachel Wolf – Clean Trackback)

What are your hopes and goals for 2014?

It’s never too early to learn about goal setting.  Goals are hope with structure — an action plan, a deadline to meet, and some back up plans.

You can help your kids learn to work toward hopes and goals (and dreams, too) by sitting down with them and talking — as individuals and together as a family and then writing down short and long-term goals.

You can create habits that will drive you to your goals.  The Charlotte Mason Method of Education is BIG on forming good habits in children early on in their life to help eliminate distractions and strengthen focus. That way,  life doesn’t get in the way of learning and growing.

Think about your family, money, health, homeschooling…

What habits can you put in place to pull you toward your goals?

Ask yourself to push through your limits and break through your comfort zone.  I saw this and thought it might help you think about 2014, and this to help you look for the healthier and happier perspective and not lose focus.

And if it’s a LEGACY you’re after, you can’t do better than your children.

As you clean out your email inboxes and get ready for a new year yourself, please leave a comment on the post and share with the community, so we can all start the new year strong together!

Are you excited? Are you hopeful?  I’d love to hear from you.

No time to waste. Those children will keep growing.

The world is waiting. Your turn….

Don’t get frozen with worry or guilt about things that didn’t go just right in 2013.

Let it go.

Here’s to a fantastic year to everyone in the SW Wisconsin Homeschool Community!

happy new year-peanuts

Leave a Reply

